Spinning

I dived into spinning this summer and (again) forgot about blogging that.

I learned spinning (with a spindle) a few years ago from a friend, produced a bit of yarn, was happy and moved on to other hobbies. Then this summer (at the end of June) a friend told me about the “Tour de Fleece”, a contest (of some sort) on ravelry where you spin yarn every day the Tour de France races. That started at the same day a rather long period of holiday (or similar free time) started for me and I was hooked.

When starting spinning at the end of June I found out that I forgot nearly everything that I learned and had to start nearly from scratch. I think it wouldn’t have been (much) harder if I only had seen videos of other people spinning and not tried it myself.

During the Tour I learned about many spinning related things that I didn’t know before, some of them I wouldn’t have thought about if I hadn’t participated in the Tour. At the end of July I had some finished wool yarn that I want to share with you:

Image

In the front left corner are the two strands of yarn that were my first tries. All yarn in skeins is spun, plied and washed. The bit on the toilet paper roll and the bit on the spindle (right part of the picture) is just spun.

The picture shows the status of my spinning progress after the three weeks of the Tour de Fleece. But I spun some more afterwards, just don’t have photos of that.

Leave a Reply

