Princess Dress

Here is finally a photo of the dress I made for my daughter, or as she calls it: her “princess dress”. She loves playing a princess in that dress, but that doesn’t keep her from playing around with a sword and shield (both wooden and made by her grandpa). pink "princess" dress for my daughter

The dress is made out of pink linen, the color was her choice and I tried to get a shade of pink that could be accomplished with period colors.
All seams and hems are handsown but I went around each piece with the sewing machine and a zig-zag-stitch to keep it from fraying. The thread is in a matching color but unknown material, I used what pink thread I had at home so it’s probably some (cheap) polyester thread.

It’s about mid-calf length for a 1 meter tall girl. I think that’s a good length for a beginner, she only wore skirts ending around her knees and that’s the first skirt/dress longer than that. But it’s still short enough so that it doesn’t get into her way when climbing stairs or ladders (at least most of the time).

She wears modern clothes underneath it, as this is just a thin linen fabric I dress her nearly as warm as I would do without the dress (so at least a long sleeved shirt and a pair of leggins in the winter) and then the dress over it. We’ll see what she will wear in summer and how much I have to change on that dress to fit her. Dressing her in only garb is a plan for the future but I have to get her “hooked” into the middle ages first. šŸ™‚

One thought on “Princess Dress

Leave a Reply

