What I did this summer

I did some scrolls that I haven’t shown here, need to get the pictures on my computer (they are distributed among my smartphone and my digital camera) edit them a bit and then find out how to upload them here. They are in different styles: of course there is carolingian miniscule, but there’s also a renaissance style: White Vine illumination with a humanist hand (that developed out of carolingian miniscule). I’m currently trying to learn the insular script used for the Book of Kells, because I’m a fan of it, I have a pdf of it and I have the request for a calligraphed proverb that would fit that style.

I made my daughter (in kindergarden age) her first garb. She saw me last winter trying on a dress-in-progress and said “aww, you’re wearing a princess dress”. I asked her if she wants her own princess dress and she agreed and chose pink as the desired color. So this summer I made her a simple tunic (should be suitable for anything pre 1300) out of pink linen. She wears if over her normal clothes as the outer layer and loves it. She also had a belt with it, but we lost that very quickly so I have to get/make her a new one (but that can wait until next spring).

This fall I went to a “Stoffmarkt”, a huge market selling fabric, sometimes much cheaper than in online shops or “real” fabric stores. A few years ago you got most things there cheaper than you would get them anywhere else, nowadays many prices have risen to a level that you can get in an online shop without much problems, but you still can make a bargain sometimes.
I got Loden (fulled wool) there for 18 Euros/meter (1,5 meters width) which would be a rather low price for a normal piece of wool fabric, and is really cheap for rather thick fulled wool. The disadvantages are: it’s stretchy in one direction so probably knitted and then fulled and it’s rather scratchy, I wouldn’t want to wear it directly on my skin. But it has a color that’s very close to the “Aubergine” or “Dunkelrot” (somewhere in between) on http://www.wolle-stoffe-seide-pflanzengefaerbt.de/shop/farbkarte.html (this is a link to a color chart of a webshop that sells natural dyed wool). I bought enough of it for a cloak for me and probably my daughter. And the original plan of the cloak was to line it with something that’s nicer to touch.
I also bought some dark blue linen fabric, to make a new tunic for my husband’s viking garb. He’s constantly complaining that his tunic out of light wool is too warm for him in summer. And he promised me that he would wear his garb if I made him a linen tunic. So next summer we can go together as a garbed family to the medieval markets. 🙂

Most of my shire went to the Crown Tourney this fall, because it’s in a neighbouring shire (and some other reasons…). It was my first crown tourney and my daughter’s first event. She was really exhausted in the evening because of sooo many new and interesting things and running around and so on… but she had fun at the event and had fun wearing her “princess dress”. (one day I’ll tell her about princesses in the SCA but for now she’s too young and playing a princess or a knight is the most interesting part of medieval stuff for her). I also enjoyed the event, even though it was a bit stressful and we had to leave in mid-feast due to totally exhausted and overloaded (with new impressions) kid.
And: I got my Award of Arms! Yay! It was a wonderful ceremony and the scroll I got looks so beautiful. I still get a warm feeling thinking about that moment. A few days before the event I was sitting down, writing an AoA scroll for another member of my shire, now knowing she was doing the same for me. I thought that it would be cool but dismissed the thought as unrealistic again. I was really surprised when I got called up at court (and really nervous too of course).

Leave a Reply

